RSS Feed

Knowing Your Daddy

For all who are led by the Spirit of God are childrenof God. So you have not received a spirit that makes you fearful slaves. Instead, you received God’s Spirit when he adopted you as his own children.  Now we call him, “Abba, Father.”For his Spirit joins with our spirit to affirm that we are God’s children. And since we are his children, we are his heirs. (Romans 8:14-17)

How would it change you if you related to God as your good, loving, strong Daddy?

My friend lost her dad suddenly at the tender age of 6. Without a physical father, she pressed in to the only other father she knew, her Heavenly one. When she prays, she calls him “Daddy,” and it grips me every time.

My brother spent time in an orphanage in Romania and had an extended conversation with a young man in his 20s. I’ll never forget his story. All he ever wanted was a family.

Knowing God as my Daddy is a new adventure for me. God has so sweetly shown me ways in which I’m living outside of His care, like an orphan, trying to fight for my own needs, prove my worth, fend for myself. I don’t need to live this way. We have a Heavenly Father who made it possible for us to be adopted as His daughters through the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. Jesus paid the price for our adoption into His family. We don’t have to live bound by sin, fear, self-protection or any other way of our old nature any longer. We can know God as our Daddy, depend on Him fully, and know ourselves as His dearly beloved daughters, filled with the same Spirit that raised Jesus from the dead. Incredible!

Part of being a good heavenly Father is that God is a great teacher, and He’s kind. He longs to father you, teach you, mold you, and embrace you. It’s a powerful and intimate appointment to crawl up into the lap of God. Do not fear. There is no question too hard for Him, no pain too deep for Him, no doubt you have that will scare Him. He understands the ways in which we’ve been hurt by our earthly fathers. He longs to heal every hurt and show you what a true Father is as He relates to you as His cherished own daughter.

So how does it change things, change you, to relate to God as your Daddy? I’d love to hear!

About Stephanie

Stephanie Hogan has had a love for Jesus and people since she began leading discipleship groups in high school. She has a master's degree in counseling and loves offering God's hope and healing through His Word as she speaks at women's retreats across the country. Stephanie serves as Director of Titus Women, a ministry of the Francis Asbury Society.

3 responses »

  1. That can be a very tough concept for one who was “betrayed” by their earthly father or one who had/has a deep FEAR of their earthly father. I was once given the advice that in all those past experiences with my earthly father to think of GOD as the COMPLETE OPPOSITE in His Relationship with me. It is tough to break through but GOD’S LOVE AND GRACE IS SUFFICIENT TO BREAK THE BONDAGE!

    Reply
    • Mary, thank you so much for bringing this reality to light. God’s must grieve at such pain and hate the sin so many women have experienced (Prov. 15:9). Come to the Fire, a national women’s conference, addressed this in a unique and meaningful way. As part of a healing service a gentleman spoke and asked us for forgiveness on behalf of all men who have ever hurt us intentionally and unintentionally. It was powerful and still available to view at http://client.stretchinternet.com/client/cttf.portal# click on “Come to the Fire Afternoon Session” and fast forward to 1:20:12. May you know God’s deep grace and love as He re-Fathers you.

      Reply
  2. The thought of God as my Daddy makes me want to crawl up in His lap and curl up hovering in His great Love. My earthly Dad was precious..and loved God, too. One example of his wise love was when I clearly disobeyed and thus got myself into big trouble. I had locked a bedroom door when he told me not to. Yes, I could not get out because the lock was tricky. I sat on the bed knowing I deserved whatever my Daddy gave me. But when he got in he sat beside his meek and scared little girl. Instead of a spanking he put his arm around me and tenderly said, “Janee, now do you know why I told you NOT to lock the door?” I have never forgotten his love in action. I have tried to follow his example and God’s though I am not perfect at it and am still learning to obey my Heavenly Father. My earthly Dad is with Him.

    Reply

Thoughts?

