RSS Feed

The World’s Best Kept Secret

Posted on

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light. (Matthew 11:28-30 ESV)

We feel so strongly about the message of the Holy Heart because it is the best kept secret in Christendom. The evil one would like to keep it that way. But the reality is, the blood of Jesus Christ can free us from the guilt of sin, the love of sin, and the power of sin, and recreate us into the person He intended us to be before the foundation of the world. ( See Ephesians 1.)

Matthew 11:28-30 is a personal invitation to come to Jesus Himself—not a church or a spiritual performance, but to the person of Jesus Christ. He is inviting us to enter into a relationship with Him that results in rest for our souls. So what is the world’s best kept secret? Simply this: Jesus alone can bring the rest we all long for.

How do we respond to such a glorious invitation? It is simple. Jesus says, “Come to Me.” We are to turn our faces toward Him, even with all our baggage.Then, we are to take His yoke: take His will and His way in exchange for my will and my way. When we come to Jesus and allow Him to take our anxieties and selfish self-centeredness, He replaces it with not only His will, but with Himself. He becomes our new center—the core of our being.

When this intimacy is a reality in our hearts, His love fills us and compels us. We no longer live for ourselves, but for Jesus. He becomes the center of our being by the power of the Holy Spirit and we are filled with His glorious, other-oriented, agape love. What freedom!

This is the power of the message of the holy heart. God can transform my being by giving me a new center. By the power of the Holy Spirit, His Presence indwells my heart and fills me with His love. No longer is the center of my being me: now it’s  Him. My deep rest comes from knowing I am no longer alone and in charge. He is with me, and in me, and will take care of me.

About Beth

Beth Coppedge is the founder of Titus Women, a ministry of The Francis Asbury Society. She speaks at retreats and conferences all over the United States and overseas challenging women to lives of personal holiness and discipleship. She encourages women to have a daily quiet time with Jesus, to share a burden for the lost, to have a heart for missions and the world, and to have a passion for being godly women who walk daily in His presence.

Thoughts?

