RSS Feed

One Body, Many Parts

Posted on

For the body does not consist of one member but of many…. If the whole body were an eye, where would be the sense of hearing? If the whole body were an ear, where would be the sense of smell? But as it is, God arranged the members in the body, each one of them, as he chose. If all were a single member, where would the body be? As it is, there are many parts, yet one body. (1 Corinthians 12:14-20, ESV)

I’m writing this from my hotel room in Wilmot, Ohio. 65 women have gathered here for this year’s Discipleship Summit: women from different parts of the country, different families, different stages of life. I happen to be a single, 26-year-old, creative-type woman, and I have lots of friends with similar lifestyles and interests to mine. Not many of them are here this weekend, though, and I kind of love that.

It’s amazing and beautiful to see such a diverse group worshipping and praying together, or to hear them laughing even now outside my door. The relationships I’ve formed with many of them are the most precious part of being involved with Titus Women. My life is different and much fuller because of them. And tonight I was struck by what I would miss out on if I only ever surrounded myself with people similar to me. It’s easy to do, because it’s more comfortable. But that sort of monochromatic community lacks the depth and richness the Body of Christ should have.

Jesus called His disciples from different places and walks of life. Fishermen, tax collectors, zealots. One has only to look at Peter and John to realize these men were not all the same. I bet they confused one another—I bet they frustrated one another. But, we know they loved each other, and together they (quite literally) changed the world. I think Jesus knew they needed each other to accomplish what He had planned.

Our eyes should be opened in community to a world so much bigger than what any one of us can see on our own. We need people around us who think and see differently. We need people in our lives with different tastes and preferences. We need people with different skills and passions. Otherwise, our world is just too small. And not only that, the advance of the Kingdom is slowed.

So heres the deal: if you’re a foot in this Body of Christ, be a foot. If you’re a nose, be the best nose ever. But don’t just hang out with all the other noses. How are you ever going to get anywhere that way?

Thoughts?

