RSS Feed

Back to Back

Posted on

 Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil. For if they fall, one will lift up his fellow. But woe to him who is alone when he falls and has not another to lift him up! Again, if two lie together, they keep warm, but how can one keep warm alone? And though a man might prevail against one who is alone, two will withstand him—a threefold cord is not quickly broken. (Ecclesiastes 4:9-12)

My first real experience with Titus Women was the 2011 Discipleship Summit. I had known Beth Coppedge and Stephanie Hogan for a few years, so I had a vague idea about what the ministry did. At that Summit though, I got my first real glimpse into the heart of Titus Women—and one defining phrase I heard that weekend still stands out in my mind: back to back.

See, part of what it means to be a Titus Woman (or, really, a Christian) is to never go alone. Never. It’s not a safe world Jesus sends us out into, and He knows one by herself is more easily overpowered. So He asks us to have each other’s backs: in prayer, in encouragement, in just simply caring, and sometimes in literally going out together. We all know what a comfort it is to just know someone else is there.

I think it’s the sweetest thing that God doesn’t ask us to stand alone. He actually designed us so that we come in webs of relationships, and so that what happens in one person affects everyone around her. It’s not just that you can make a difference in someone’s life—you are, whether you like it or not. So when we each surrender to Jesus, when we pray for each other, when we stand together, it quite literally changes things.

In this way, we all have a sacred responsibility to one another, to stand back to back. I know many of you have this kind of community in your lives, and I hope you’re really entering into it. I also know some of you only wish you did, and you feel very much like you’re going alone. It’s a painful and exhausting place to be. But here’s the thing: you have at least one person standing back to back with you. You’ve probably never met me, but I’m praying today for you. I’m asking Jesus to give you strength, and I’m asking Him to bring others into your life to hold your arms up. If you want, you can drop me a line (erin.hill@francisasburysociety.com) and let me know how to pray more specifically. I mean it.

About Erin

A would-be writer, back-road driver, and lover of anything made of bread and cheese, Erin Hill serves as Communications Coordinator for the Francis Asbury Society and Titus Women. She first came to Wilmore, Kentucky from the Cincinnati area in 2005 to attend Asbury University, where she earned a B.A. in English Literature. While studying at Asbury, Erin came face to face with Jesus in a new way, and her life was forever marked by His offer of a sweet exchange: all of Him for all of her. She loves good conversation, good books, good music, and good tea. Erin writes regularly at lifeinactfour.com/wordpress.

Thoughts?

