RSS Feed

Watching Through Grief

by Marina Layton
Ladies, it has been so good to be in the Word this week (when isn’t it!) with reading John 13 – John 21. I am one that doesn’t have a “life verse”, as my favorite verses are the ones that speak to me right where the Lord has me at that moment in time.

Our family has been in grief over the loss of our 5-1/2-month-old grandson who died this past December 22nd.  He just didn’t wake up that morning and the coroner said it was a classic case of SIDS. But, Jesus, how can that be?  Why would you do “that” to our son and daughter-in-law and their other two children, and during the week of Christmas celebrations?  In January I read Mark 9:33b from a devotional and even though I “knew” it, I was reassured and able to grasp it more fully and rest in it more securely. It says in the New Living Translation,

 You are seeing things merely from a human
point of view, not from God’s. 
I had to admit, “Yes Lord. I am just like Peter here and not understanding your ways, but Jesus, I trust you”.Now back to our reading this week. John 14:6 reminded me (yes, we must stay in His word to reiterate and confirm what we already “know”),

 I am the way, the truth, and the life.
No one can come to the Father
except through me.  
(NLT)

  What a wonderful verse when sharing the gospel of Jesus Christ with someone who does not know Jesus. The current world situation and the current public education system would have people believe that other religions are also a way to God.  WRONG! Jesus Christ is the ONLY WAY!!

Then as we read on in verses 15 and 16,

 If you love me, obey my commandments. And I will
give you another Advocate who will never leave you.
He 
is the Holy Spirit, who leads into all truth…
Wow! Thank you, Jesus, for sending the Holy Spirit (Acts 2)! Do you know what that means? Any time, yes ANY TIME, we can talk to Jesus, and HE HEARS US! And, we can hear Him through the Holy Spirit dwelling in us!  It may be through His Word or through other believers or even circumstances.Reading on in John chapter 15, Jesus tells us how our relationship with Him and the Father works. God is the gardener and Jesus in the true grapevine.  We know God wants a beautiful garden (people). We as His people (described here as “branches”) need trimming or pruning so more fruit is produced.  Verse 4 says,

 Remain in me, and I will remain in you.
For a branch cannot produce fruit if it is severed from the vine,
and you cannot be fruitful unless you remain in me. (NLT)

We bought some new living room furniture and one particular chair has become my “prayer chair”.  We didn’t pick it out specifically for that use, but each morning that is where I sit, reading a devotional, reading God’s Word, and praying.  Then I am set for the day, continuing in prayer as the Lord, through the Holy Spirit, reminds me of people and circumstances for which I need to pray.

Let’s skip over to John 16:33 (NLT):

 I have told you all this so that you may have peace in Me.
Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows.
But take heart, because I have overcome the world. 
And yes, God has done some pruning in my life as I walk with Him through the circumstances of little Ben’s death.  My inquiring mind wants to know “why”, but then I rest in Mark 9:33, and sing, “Trust and obey, for there’s no other way to be happy in Jesus but to trust and obey.”I am out of room for this week’s Winter Watch; however, I encourageyou, if you have not done so, to read these eight chapters in John.  In fact, be sure to read the whole book! These are Jesus’ words. What a joy to read HIS words and hear HIS voice!


Winter Watch Links
Watchman’s Guide to Prayer     Reading Calendar     State Prayer Guide     
Click Here to join the Winter Watch.


Would you like to hear more about what God is doing through Titus Women and the Lydia Prayer Groups? Click here to sign up for  the eNews and the Lydia Lifeline. Be sure to check your preferred emails and then scroll to the bottom of the form and click “subscribe now.”
Thoughts?

