RSS Feed

Spiritual Secrets

by Kelly Hallahan

n studying the life of Hudson Taylor with my son for a school project, I have returned to the classic: Hudson Taylor’s Spiritual Secret. I encourage you to read this book (and it’s $0.99 for Kindle), but I also want to share his secret:
“Hudson Taylor had many secrets, for he was always going on with God, yet they were but one- the simple, profound secret of drawing for every need, temporal or spiritual, upon “the fathomless wealth of Christ.” –Dr. and Mrs. Howard Taylor, Hudson Taylor’s Spiritual Secret

As a missionary, you would think I would already know how important prayer is to daily life. And I believe strongly in the power of prayer. But I must confess, that in comparison with the prayer life of Hudson Taylor, I am a babe. I have only begun to plumb the depths of this mysterious, yet simple practice.

In the Psalms this week, we are reminded of who God is. He is my refuge and my fortress. He is trustworthy. He is my shield. He is Most High. He answers when I call upon Him. He is loving and kind. He is my rock and there is no unrighteousness in Him. He reigns. He is clothed with majesty. He has girded Himself with strength. He is judge of the earth. He is my help. His comfort  delights my soul. He is the great King of all gods. He is our Shepherd. Prayer begins and ends with praise for Who He is.

Declare His glory among the nations, His wonders among all peoples. For the Lord is great and greatly to be praised, He is to be feared above all gods  (Psalm 96:3-4, NKJV.)

As His glory fills our hearts and minds, we see ourselves in proper perspective. Over and over in Isaiah we hear the refrain, I am the Lord, and there is no other. He is God and I am not. He has borne our griefs and carried our sorrows (Isaiah 53:4, NKJV)… the work is finished. And so we  overcome by the blood of the Lamb and the word of our testimony (Revelation 12:11, NKJV). And our testimony is not “Look what I’ve done” but “Look what God has done!”

 Even to your old age, I am He, and even to gray hairs I will carry you! I have made and I will bear; Even I will carry, and will deliver you  (Isaiah 46:4, NKJV.)

And so in prayer we confess our utter dependence on God alone. He must do the work. He must provide the funds. He must transform hearts. He must convict of sin. He must send the laborers.

 After these things I looked and behold, a great multitude which no one could number, of all nations, tribes, peoples, and tongues, standing before the throne and before the Lamb, clothed in white robes, with palm branches in their hands, and crying out with a loud voice, saying, ‘Salvation belongs to our God who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb!’  (Revelation 7:9-10.)

If we want to see this glorious picture unfold, we must be people of prayer! Oswald Chambers says it well: “Prayer is the battle, and it makes no difference where you are. However God may engineer your circumstances, your duty is to pray.”


Kelly and her husband, Joshua, along with their three children, serve Jesus as missionaries with World Gospel Mission in Kampala, Uganda. You can read more about the Hallahans here
.
Thoughts?

