RSS Feed

Knowing the Way

Posted on

by Linda Boyette

I am the Way...
John 14:6
Now My soul has become troubled;
and what shall I say, ‘Father save Me from this hour’?
But for this purpose I came to this hour.

John 12:27


Jesus, God’s lamb slain before the foundation of the world came to earth. The Word made flesh dwelt among us revealing God’s Absolute Way, Truth and Life. The Bible teaches us Jesus is not a way, He is The Way. He is not a part of truth, He is Truth. He is not a standard of life, He is Life. He is not a kind of love, He is love.

There is One Way to the Father – through Jesus. For you and me to have Jesus, the Father’s way is the cross. On Good Friday, Jesus received His cross and fulfilled our Father’s will. Yielding His Spirit into His Father’s hands He cried, “It is finished!” (Luke 24:46; John 19:30). Because of Calvary and Easter we can know and receive the Way, Truth, and life in Jesus! In a beloved hymn, Charles Wesley states: “I need no other argument I have no other plea, it is enough that Jesus died and that He died for me.”

The New Testament Covenant sets me free from the law of sin and of death. The undeserved New Testament grace of Jesus offers us the life of Father and Son if I am willing to die to the old manIf anyone wishes to come after Me, he must deny himself, and take up his cross daily and follow Me. For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake, he is the one who will save it. For what is a man profited if he gains the whole world, and loses or forfeits himself? (Luke 9:23-25 NASV). The if is not about putting conditions to or working for grace. Grace invites me to live my life in the One Who laid down His life, with His blood making the absolute provision  to know the priceless privilege of entering into God’s everlasting covenant of Calvary love. God never forces grace; He gives grace. Therefore, upon saying yes to receiving God’s gift of grace I too must bear a cross – my own.

Bearing my cross is not giving payment for my sin, rather it is a cross identifying that in Christ I am dead to sin and alive to God (Romans 6). My cross is not made of wood. My cross is the unseen life of faith stained with His blood, obtaining its power from the resurrected Christ Jesus. With His resurrection power, I remain dead to the old self-will and continually live in His will. My cross is the consistent drawing from the fountain of living water within, trusting Him to meet and supply every need, instead of gratifying the lusts of the flesh. Taking up my cross means receiving from Jesus what only He can give – agape love. My cross is the humility to confess and acknowledge that for me to know Jesus, live in Jesus and spill out the reality of His way, truth and life, I must be cleansed by the blood, filled with resurrection life and remain in Him.

If I take up my cross, I know the incredible freedom of living grace; life through the Holy Spirit of the Risen Lord (Galatians 5:1). My cross is crucifixion of the old man, the old life and the old lies, inviting Jesus to have His way in making all things new all the time! On His cross, Jesus gave Himself for New Covenant living. Taking up my cross is giving Him myself and my own way to His cleansing and keeping; faithfully and with joy!

Today, this present culture thinks any way is good, anything is accepted, any thought is truth, any style goes, and whatever you believe you have a right to believe. There’s just one problem; it’s the old way of thinking; You are of your father the devil, and you want to do the desires of your father…he speaks a lie, he speaks from his own nature, for he is a liar and the father of lies. But because I speak the truth, you do not believe Me (John 8:44, 45). With His cross ever before me, my cross always upon me, Jesus in me and the world behind me I no longer need live a lie!

Good Friday is over! Easter is here! Every moment of every day, He is now ALIVE in me! The cross – His and mine – is God’s Way for REVIVAL: knowing the Beauty of the Living Lord JESUS! God’s Way of the cross leads home!


Spring’s Prayer Focus

Rejoice in God Your Savior and claim every heart and life of your family for Him; taking up their cross and following Him. JESUS IS ALIVE!

A Spring Challenge: Read John 15-17.


Spring’s Resource Links

Revival Sign up          Scripture Reading Guide 

State Prayer Guide          Journal Label          Music for Worship

About Linda

Linda Boyette’s life is centered in one reality: Jesus is enough! Linda has been involved with Titus Women since its beginning, and she currently serves as Discipleship Coordinator. She also leads a Titus Bible Study in her home and speaks at conferences and retreats around the U.S. and internationally. No matter the setting, Linda’s appointment is to invite women to live the incredible joy of a sacred fellowship with Father, Son, and Holy Spirit through knowing Jesus as Savior, Center, and Source. Linda is also an accomplished pianist, serving churches and camp meetings through the ministry of music. She lives on a farm in Mt. Vernon, Ohio with her husband Phil and is mother to three sons and two daughters-in-love.

Thoughts?

