RSS Feed

A Call to Intercession From a Holy Heart

by

Bette Crouse

Jesus said to his disciples:  “You believe in God, believe also in Me.
Believe Me that I am in the 
Father, and the Father in Me.
He that believeth on Me, the works that I do shall he do also;
and greater works than these shall he do.”

(John 14:1,11-12)


I must believe in His infinite love and in His divine power, which has conquered sin and will truly keep me from it. I must believe in Him who, as the great Intercessor, through the Spirit, will inspire each member of His body with joy and power for communion with God in prayer. My prayer life must be brought entirely under the control of Christ and His love.

When Linda asked me to expand what I had prepared for World Prayer, I naively agreed to do it. “No stress,” she said, “just add a little and make it more inclusive. After much prayer, gathering my (several) Bibles and taking just some of the relevant books from bookshelves all over our house I stopped. I realized that what I was trying to do in about 800 words would be like going to the New Jersey shore, scooping up a spoonful of the salty surf for you to taste as I say to you, “This is the Atlantic Ocean”!

I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry or just decline the “invitation” to write. However the burden and passion the Holy Spirit has impressed on my heart so deeply demands that I give you a “spoonful” and pray the Holy Spirit will take it and make it so addictive you will continue with an insatiable thirst for an ever deepening relationship with the One true Intercessor. It will be costly, requiring sacrifice and discipline. It may include indescribable and unavoidable suffering. But it will be a journey like no other!

I believe coming events in our country and our world require Jesus followers to go to a deeper level in prayer than many of us have attained. As a nation, we have turned our back on God and the enemy has come in like a flood. Rees Howells, well known, victorious Intercessor, faced the challenges to faith in the Bible with a firm belief that the Bible means what it says and can be proved today whether on a personal level or in national and international affairs. Two things he insisted upon, only the Holy Spirit can guide the intercessor in the path he must walk and, there must be faith equal to the intercession.

Most fundamental of all is the principal that intercession is based on the victory of the Lord Jesus Christ in His atoning death and resurrection. The Holy Spirit leads the Intercessor.(See Hebrews 7:25 and Romans 8:26,27).

Daniel’s prayer in Daniel 9 is a model of the prayer of the Intercessor. He identified himself with his people in their sin and sought the Lord, for his own sake, to remember His Word, to forgive and to restore.

There are times when the Intercessor finds himself up against very real forces; the principalities and powers, rulers of darkness of this world (Ephesians 6:12). Here the Holy Spirit must guide the Intercessor, as He alone knows the way to break through the opposition.

It is abundantly clear that the path of the intercessor is the way of the Cross, but it is also the way of fellowship with Christ on a very deep level. Calvary was the supreme sacrifice of love. Fellowship with the Lord in intercession leads to an ever-deepening realization of and entering into Calvary Love.

The implication of the following verses is staggering! “I looked for a man among them who would build up the wall and stand before me in the gap on behalf of the land so I would not have to destroy it, but I found none. so I will pour out My wrath on them and consume them with My fiery anger, bringing down on their own heads all they have done, declares the Sovereign Lord” (Ezekiel 22:30,31).

I wonder how many promises from God have gone unfulfilled because He can’t find a person to pray the prayer!

Let us embrace the incredible invitation to be co-laborers with God, to be carriers of His awesome Holy Spirit and ambassadors for His great Kingdom, interceding for a lost world and for those persecuted for His Name’s sake.

Thoughts?

