RSS Feed

Revival At Work

Revival At Work

  For we are God’s servants, working together; you are God’s field, God’s building.
I Corinthians 3:9 RSV


The following is taken from the pen of Mrs. Charles Cowman in her May 11th devotional  ofStreams in the Valley. Her application of two of our weekly Scripture readings has especially ministered to me. I would like to share it with you.

~Linda Boyette


The plowing and harrowing are painful processes. And surely the Divine Plowman is at work in the world as never before. He plows by His Spirit, by His Word, and by His providences. Though painful be the processes of cultivation, they are essential.

Could the earth speak, it would say, ‘I felt the hard plow today; I knew what was coming; when the plow-point first struck me I was full of pain and distress and I could have cried out for very agony for the point was sharp and driven through me with great energy; but now, I think, this means the blade, the ear, the full corn in the ear, the golden harvest, and harvest-home.”

When the plow of God’s providence first cuts up a man’s life, what wonder if the man should exclaim a little; yea, if he should give way to one hour’s grief! But the man may come to himself, ere eventide, and say, ‘Plow on, Lord! I want my life to be plowed all over, that it may be sown all over, and that in every corner there may be the golden grain or the beautiful flowers. Pity me that I exclaimed when I first felt the plowshare. Thou knowest my frame; Thou remembers that I am dust. But now I recollect; I put things together; I see thy meaning; so drive on, Thou Plowman of Eternity!’

He does not use the plow and harrow without intention. Where God plows, He intends to sow. His plowing is a proof he is FOR and not against you.
“’For, behold, I am for you, and I will turn unto you, and you shall be tilled and sown.’”Ezekiel 36:9

Let us never forget that the Husbandman is never so near the land as when He is plowing it, the very time when we are tempted to think He has forsaken us.

His plowing is a proof that He thinks you of value, and worth chastening; for He does not waste His plowing on the barren sand. He will not plow continually, but only for a time, and for a definite purpose. Soon He will close that process. “Doth the plowman plow continually to sow? Does he continually open and break the clods of His ground?” (Isaiah 28: 24) Verily, No! Soon, soon, we shall, through these painful processes and by His gentle showers of grace become His fruitful land.

“The desolate land shall be tilled…And they shall  say, This land that was desolate is become like the garden of EdenEzekiel 36: 34-35.

And thus we shall be a praise unto Him.

Thoughts?

