RSS Feed

The Unexpected Storms of Life

by
Vicki New

Almost every day of our lives the unexpected happens. Sometimes it’s small things that surprise us for a moment, like today when Linda Boyette called and asked me to do this week’s eNews. When I asked her what she wanted me to write about she said, “Talk about how we live in the Spirit when we can’t see what’s ahead and when the unexpected happens.” Well, I could stop right there and just quote Linda, “Jesus is enough!” and be finished.

We’ve all been through difficult times when life events occur unexpectedly. It happened to us in March when my husband lost his job of 22 years due to corporate cutbacks. It happened to a close friend whose son was killed in a tragic accident. The storms of life unexpectedly happen to all of us with tragedy, disappointments, pain, grief—the list goes on and on. What starts out to be a normal day many times can end in a life-changing event. I’ve been through several as I’m sure you have, and I can attest to God’s faithfulness and His provision.

One thing that is certain and not unexpected is that the unexpected WILL come, just as the rain, the floods, the storms come in the life of every person. Jesus tells us, “Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house: yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock” (Matthew 7:24-25).

When illness occurs, when marriages struggle, when you’re under tremendous stress due to financial problems, when you’re worried about your children’s choices or the future, when jobs are lost, when the unexpected happens, do you know where to find strength? Jesus Christ is the source of everything we need to face the storms of life. He is our Rock. He is our anchor in the storm so the waves of life will not overtake us. It is not about the storm—the storms will come. It’s about where a person builds their house. If we build on the rock, Jesus Christ, then even in the midst of the storms, we will stand firm. Even in the midst of tragedies or the unexpected, we will not be destroyed if we are anchored in Him.

We can have hope, joy, and peace when the unexpected comes as we trust in Him knowing He is in control. “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit” (Romans 15:13).

We have the assurance that He hears our prayers as we cry out to Him. “In my distress I called to the Lord; I cried to my God for help. From his temple he heard my voice; my cry came before him, into his ears” (Psalm 18:6).

We are not alone in the storms and we are greatly loved. He is faithful and His Word is full of promises for us. “Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is His faithfulness”(Lamentations 3:22-23).

He is our source of strength when we are scared and feel too weak to go on. “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand” (Isaiah 41:10).

Kim McLean and Melinda Priest sing a beautiful song on one of the Come to the Fire CDs. I’ve sung along with it so many times, it’s become a prayer from my heart.

I give this day to You, I give this day to You.
Whatever I may face, Your grace will see me through.
In this fast and hurried pace, I need to hear You clearly,
Feel the warmth of Your embrace, and know that You are near me.
I give this day to You. I give this day to You.

 Give each day to Jesus. Be in the Word, be in prayer, trust in His goodness, be obedient, have faith—build your house on the Rock so when the unexpected comes and you can’t see what’s ahead, you will remain steadfast and will not fall. Jesus Christ, our Rock—our Savior, Center, and Source is ENOUGH to safely carry us through the storms of life.

Thoughts?

