RSS Feed

Tough Call

Posted on

You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you
so that you might go and bear fruit—fruit that will last.

John 15:16


The Bible is full of people like me. I love that. When God meets with Moses (Exodus 3-4) ,years later, he reveals his power and his holiness right before his eyes. And Moses hides his face. God makes it clear that he, Yahweh is the one who has heard the cries of his people and will rescue them and give a land of their own. Yet Moses responds “but who am I to go?” The Lord promises to be with him and Moses says “But what if…” Yahweh gives Moses visible signs to show him and others that he is with him, the Mighty Lord of all creation, who loves his people and plans to rescue them himself. Yet Moses still says, “I can’t do it, I’m not good at that”. God promises to make a way himself, even in the weaknesses of Moses and he pleads, “Lord, please send someone else”. God shares his heart for his people with Moses, he explains his detailed plans and makes it clear that it is his power and love that will be at work, not Moses. Yet Moses is still looking at himself. I think we’ve all been there.

The Lord asks us to join him in his work but he is the one who will do it. Jesus invites us in John 15:5 to remain in him and says without him you can do nothing. Yet we, like Moses, look at ourselves and hide. We say, “Who am I to go, but what if…?” We think as though Jesus is not able to work or to fill us with his Holy Spirit and we say “I’m not good at that, please send someone else”. Jesus promises to be with us always, to be in us and to appoint us to bear fruit that will last. Thankfully it’s not all about me. My part is to pray, willing for him to show me where he will meet other people through me, change me to see them through his heart and show me how to join him in his work.  It may not be easy and when Pharaoh oppresses God’s people more, Moses prays honestly “why did you send me?”. But when things look hopeless to us, God sees a long-term picture and it does not mean he is not at work. He chooses us to bear fruit wherever he has placed us, that will last for all eternity, that we may not always perceive in the short term. Whatever Jesus is asking you to be and do for him, he is with you and in you, he has chosen you and he will bring fruit. Thank him today that it’s all about him, not about you.


  Scripture Reading Guide         Journal Label             Summer Songs for Worship 
Titus Women’s Blog          Weekly eNews signup          Diving Even Deeper 

About Fiona

A former missionary to Tanzania, Fiona is the Founding Director of the Esther Project, a ministry dedicated to helping young women in Africa be beautiful in Christ and take a stand for God in their generation. Fiona has written numerous Bible Studies, and currently leads small groups and a weekly Titus Women Bible Study.

Thoughts?

