RSS Feed

52 Days of Prayer: Day 1

Open Your Heart

 

Reflect on the first recall of God’s grace extended to you:

Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.
(Revelation 3:20)

Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.
(Psalm 139:23-24)

Turn Scripture into a Personal Prayer:

Dear God,

Thank You for inviting me to open my heart for Your coming. It humbles me to think that You desire to fellowship with me, that Your Spirit surrounds me and is within me. I give You permission to examine my heart, even my thoughts. Since You know everything there is to know about me, which is both a frightening and awesome revelation, I desire to have You reveal truth to me. Tell me if there is any wickedness in me that needs Your cleansing; I am listening. Lead me on the path to eternal life. Thank You for extending Your hand of blessing to me. Amen1


1Patsy Lewis. Simply Praying (Kansas City, Missouri: Beacon Hill Press of Kansas City, 2006), p.20.
Thoughts?

