RSS Feed

52 Days of Prayer: Day 2

Shadow Jesus

 

As you shadow Jesus today, may all on whom your shadow falls be enriched and blessed:

I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands. I will be fully satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you. On my bed I remember you; I think of you through the watches of the night. Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings.
(Psalm 63:4-7)

The apostles left the Sanhedrin, rejoicing because they had been counted worthy of suffering disgrace for the Name. Day after day, in the temple courts and from house to house, they never stopped teaching and proclaiming the good news that Jesus is the Messiah.
(Acts 5:41-42)

Turn Scripture into a Personal Prayer:

Lord, I am not sure I could have rejoiced as the apostles did following their flogging when they were asked not to speak again in the name of Jesus. It challenges me that they were rejoicing because they had been counted worthy of suffering disgrace for Your name. Not only did they rejoice, they courageously continued to proclaim Your name daily in the temple courts and from house to house. They could not be stopped. This convicts me. Give me the courage to teach and proclaim the good news that Jesus is the Christ even when I face obstacles. I want my lips to praise You as long as I live.  Amen.*


*Patsy Lewis. Simply Praying (Kansas City, Missouri: Beacon Hill Press of Kansas City, 2006), p.23.
Thoughts?

