RSS Feed

52 Days of Prayer: Day 14

Unclutter Your Home

I will sing of your love and justice;
    to you, Lord, I will sing praise.
I will be careful to lead a blameless life—
    when will you come to me?

I will conduct the affairs of my house
    with a blameless heart.
I will not look with approval
    on anything that is vile.

I hate what faithless people do;
    I will have no part in it.
The perverse of heart shall be far from me;
    I will have nothing to do with what is evil.

Psalm 101:1-4


Take a prayer walk through your home looking for items that need to be removed. (See Simply Praying, pages 79-81 for suggestions.) If there is a question, let it go. Then pray over every room of your home asking God to fill the empty spaces with His Holy Presence and Peace.

As you take this prayer walk through your home.

  • Give thanks for the gifts and treasures you find there.
  • Pray blessings prayers on each person you see in pictures or each person who comes to your mind when you encounter a gift they have given.
  • Ask God to permeate each room with His blessed Holy Spirit.

 Turn Scripture into a Personal Prayer:  Psalm 101:1-4

Dear God, it is easy to sing of Your love and to praise You when I am careful to live a blameless life. I want to lead a life of integrity in my home. I choose not to read or view things that are wicked. I will carefully guard what I watch and stay away from evil. I want to stand in Your presence with a pure heart. Amen.1


 

1Patsy Lewis. Simply Praying (Kansas City, Missouri: Beacon Hill Press of Kansas City, 2006), p. 71-72.

 

Thoughts?

