RSS Feed

52 Days of Prayer: Day 16

Remember to Forget

Bring your regrets to God in prayer. If you are dealing with some agonizing thought related to remorse over a situation you cannot go back and correct, here is the threefold plan that I have used in many circumstances:

  • First, I thank God for hearing my heart-cry and remorse concerning this event. I give Him thanks for forgiving me of any wrongdoing and poor choices from peer pressure. I do this aloud if I am alone.
  • Next, I pray blessings prayers on the individuals involved. I pray for their salvation if not a Christian. I pray for family, work, and all aspects of life, which come to my mind. I ask God to direct my prayers.
  • Finally, I purposely turn my thoughts to other things—a Scripture, song, or project. I may not be able to stop all the thoughts that enter my mind, but I can control those I choose to dwell upon.

 Turn Scripture into a Personal Prayer: As far as the east is from the west,
    so far has he removed our transgressions from us. Psalm 103:12

Dear Father of Forgiveness, You have forgiven my transgressions and removed them from me as far as the East is from the West, buried in the depths of the sea, never to be remembered against me. I am free, cleansed, purified by the blood of Jesus, redeemed, liberated. That is worth shouting from the rooftop! Thank You for placing a song in my heart! Amen.1


1Patsy Lewis. Simply Praying (Kansas City, Missouri: Beacon Hill Press of Kansas City, 2006), p. 81-84.

 

Thoughts?

