RSS Feed

52 Days of Prayer: Day 20

Accept Yourself

View pictures of yourself today. Look at photos of childhood, teen years, and recent days. Ask God to reveal insight to you about your personality, gifts, masks you may have donned for survival, walls you have erected for protection, emotions you have blocked, ways you are deceiving yourself. Let Him guide your heart search and free you to be yourself, to accept yourself, as He paints your portrait from His eyes.

 Turn Scripture into a Personal Prayer:  being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. Philippians1:6 

Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we boast in the hope of the glory of God. Romans 5:1-2

Dear God, Master Creator, You know me better than I know myself. You have taught me many things about myself that I would have never recognized without Your exposure. As Paul prayed for the saints at Philippi, I too have the confidence that You who began a good work in me will be faithful to carry it on to completion. Continue Your workmanship in me, and with confidence and joy I look forward to becoming all You have in mind for me to be. Amen.1


1Patsy Lewis. Simply Praying (Kansas City, Missouri: Beacon Hill Press of Kansas City, 2006), p. 106-107.

 

Thoughts?

