RSS Feed

52 Days of Prayer: Day 28

Read a Book

Read a book of the Bible today. The book of Esther is an adventurous story with only ten chapters. Ask God what assignment He has for you “at such a time as this.” I can assure you that it will be unlike Esther’s task; however, each of us has a purpose to fulfill. No two stories will be identical.

Read Esther

Turn Scripture into a Personal Prayer:

You show that you are a letter from Christ, the result of our ministry, written not with ink but with the Spirit of the living God, not on tablets of stone but on tablets of human hearts.  2 Corinthians 3:3

Dear God, I cannot imagine how afraid I would have been to go before the king as Queen Esther did. I too hope I would have had the wisdom to call everyone I knew to fast for me as I also fasted, prayed, and prepared. I think of Mordecai’s words to Esther when he said, “Who knows? Maybe you were made queen for just such a time as this.” I sometimes wonder if You are saying to me in certain circumstances, I have sent you here for such a time as this. Esther’s obedience challenges me: “I will go to the king even though it is forbidden. If I die; I die.” Thank You for books in the Bible such as Esther’s story of obedience. They bolster my faith. Thank You also for books You have anointed contemporary writers to publish. Many have given me hope and courage in the face of life’s struggles. Yes, You still are a God of miracles! Amen1


1Patsy Lewis. Simply Praying (Kansas City, Missouri: Beacon Hill Press of Kansas City, 2006), p. 129-131.

Thoughts?

