RSS Feed

52 Days of Prayer: Day 29

Arm Yourself for Battle

Ask yourself the following questions came from Dr. Chuck Lawless:

  • Belt of Truth: Am I the same person in public and when no one is looking?
  • Breastplate of Righteousness: Do I consistently choose to do what is right?
  • Feet Shod: Do I stand firmly in my faith and share Christ at all opportunities?
  • Shield of Faith: Do I trust God enough to do whatever He asks?
  • Helmet of Salvation: Is God honored by what goes on in my mind?
  • Sword of the Spirit: Do I have daily study of God’s word?
  • Pray at All Times: Do I live in a spirit of prayer?

Turn Scripture into a Personal Prayer:

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.  Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.  Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people. Ephesians 6:10-18

As I fasten the belt of truth, I look to my Savior, who is The Truth, for strength to reject Satan’s lies. I want to be a truthful person, not only to speak truth, but to live truth, to know truth, and to believe truth.

Thank You for the breastplate of righteousness. I realize that my righteousness comes from You, and Satan must flee from Your righteousness. May I choose to do what is right today.

You have provided me with sandals of peace. Thank You for Your peace which is mine. I want to share this good news of peace with others that Your Spirit will bring into my life today.

I lift the shield of faith against the darts of the wicked one. Shield me from above, beneath, beside, before, and behind. Encircle me with Your protection. I want to have the faith to trust You to do what You ask.

It is with gratitude that I put on the helmet of salvation. I recognize that my salvation comes from Jesus Christ alone. I cover my head, my mind, my thoughts, with Your salvation. I want You to be honored by what I allow to go into my mind. May I have the mind of Christ.

The word of God is my sword. I take this sword of the Spirit as a weapon to defeat the enemy. Help me to meditate on it and to memorize it so that I am ready at all times to use it to resist Satan and send him on retreat.

Thank You for the privilege of prayer. Show me how to intercede for others. May all my requests be in line with Your Holy Spirit. I want to live in a spirit of prayer.

Again I acknowledge that my strength comes from You! Amen1


1Patsy Lewis. Simply Praying (Kansas City, Missouri: Beacon Hill Press of Kansas City, 2006), p. 129-131.
Thoughts?

