RSS Feed

52 Days of Prayer: Day 41

Follow His Call

Prayerfully Read the story of Zacchaeus in Luke 19:1-10.

  • Is your desire to see Jesus today so great that you will overcome obstacles of personal weaknesses, jobs, and time pressures to make a way to see Him?
  • Envision Him spotting you in the crowd and calling you to come down to see Him.

Would you respond as Zacchaeus did? “He called me. I have to go.”

  • Imagine what it would be like if He came to your house or place of work today. Would it change any of your thoughts and actions as it did Zacchaeus?
  • Make a list of some of the dramatic changes Christ’s coming has brought to your life. Give Him praise for these transformations.
  • Ask God what He wants to say to you through this Scripture.
  • Read verse 10. Pray for those in your family and circle of life who are lost. Remind yourself that Christ is seeking the lost. He is seeking to save your lost loved ones. You can pray with confidence knowing it is God’s will for the lost to yield their lives to Jesus. Pray with boldness. Do not give up!

Turning Scripture into a Personal Prayer: (Luke 19:1-10)

Dear Jesus, When I hear You call, I want to immediately and willingly obey as did Peter, Andrew, James, John, Levi, and Zacchaeus. I sense that Zacchaeus had a longing to see You; he exhibited this by his creative solution to overcome his short stature. The Scripture says he came down from the tree at once and welcomed You gladly when You invited Yourself to his home for a meal. This entire scene makes me smile. I like to imagine myself in a similar situation. My heart would have been pounding as You called my name. The dramatic transformation Your presence made for Zacchaeus both thrills me and challenges me to reach out to others with Your life changing message of hope. You have called me. I have to go! Love, ___________1


1Patsy Lewis. Simply Praying (Kansas City, Missouri: Beacon Hill Press of Kansas City, 2006), 199-200.

 

 

Thoughts?

