RSS Feed

52 Days of Prayer: Day 48

Prepare for His Arrival

Read Luke 24:36-52. Have you, like the disciples, waited for the infilling of the Holy Spirit?

Prepare your heart and home for the Lord’s presence to be invited into all areas and activities of your life—your work, your play, your mealtimes, your family affairs, your celebrations, your struggles. Take Him with you into your world.

Turn Scripture into a Personal Prayer: (Luke 2:36-38)

Dear Jesus, My heart has been touched as I have read and reread the story of the prophetess Anna this week. Even though she was a widow and very old, I do not see her having self-pity. Her devotion to worship and prayer is a beautiful model to follow. I can visualize the joy she felt at seeing You after all those years of anticipation of the coming of the Messiah. She displayed that joy by telling others of Your arrival. I too want to be a woman who prays, worships, fasts, and prepares my heart daily for Your dwelling. Thank You that You have come to live in my heart. Show me how to spread the news to my world that You have come to set up Your Kingdom in the hearts of men and women who will receive You. I anticipate Your coming again. Amen1


1Patsy Lewis. Simply Praying (Kansas City, Missouri: Beacon Hill Press of Kansas City, 2006), 231, 233.

Thoughts?

